Doubling Down on Doubling the Pell Grant

As the nation rebuilds from the economic downturn brought on by COVID-19, current and incoming students will require additional financial support to help pay for college. One clear option is to double down on the one mechanism we already have in federal law designed to target funding to low-income students by doubling the maximum Pell Grant award available to students. Pell Grants are the foundation of our national investment in higher education, and they help pave the way for nearly 7 million low- and middle-income students to attend and complete college. However, the current maximum Pell Grant covers less than one-third of the cost of attending a four-year college. To boost the grant’s purchasing power and help make college an option for more students who are currently in crisis, Congress should invest in and protect the Pell Grant program.

More than 1,200 organizations and institutions support doubling the Pell Grant.

Add your voice to the chorus of support,and let everyone know you support #DoublePell!

In THE NEWS

7-21-21 Jesuit colleges are committed to serving low-income students. If Joe Biden doubled the Pell Grant, we could serve more.

7-21-21 News Byte: Jennifer Griffiths, Ph.D., Shares Her Pell Grant Story

7-14-21 How to make good colleges want low-income students

7-13-21 Now Is The Time To #DoublePell

7-2-21 College students are struggling and that's why doubling the Pell Grant will help | Opinion

6-25-21 Doubling Pell Has Broad Support, but Is It Attainable?

6-17-21 Democrats Propose to Double Pell Grant Over Five Years

5-19-21 Report: Doubling the Pell Grant Could Serve as Precursor to Free College

2-16-21 The economic case for doubling the Pell Grant

1-30-21 The quickest and most effective way Biden can help millions of Americans go to college

11-20-20 Will Biden be able to double the Pell Grant?

10-15-20 New Students at U.S. Colleges Drop, Worsening Campus Crisis

8-4-20 OPINION: The dire need for significant federal investment in U.S. colleges and their students

7-21-20 A New Call to Increase Pell

7-14-20 Doubling the Pell Grant is crucial for the future of our students and the economy

6-17-20 Congress Needs to Prevent A Flight from College

5-21-20 John B. King Jr. Testimony On FY 2021 Funding Before the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education and Related Agencies

5-18-20 TICAS Joint Pell Letter

5-1-20 Amid COVID-19, Doubling Pell Grants is the Next Urgent Need for HBCUs, Says UNCF

7-8-19 Brewing Battle Over Pell Grants

EVENTS CALENDAR

This is a running list of events on or about doubling the Pell Grant. If you'd like your event added to the calendar, please fill out the events form.

Speak Directly with Experts Working to Make this Happen

Matt Owens
Association of American Universities (AAU)
matt.owens@aau.edu

Lindsey Tepe
Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU)
ltepe@aplu.org

Viviann Anguiano
Center for American Progress
vanguiano@americanprogress.org

Janette Martinez
Excelencia in Education
jmartinez@edexcelencia.org

Julie Peller
Higher Learning Advocates
jpeller@higherlearningadvocates.org

Mamie Voight
IHEP
mvoight@ihep.org

Wayne Taliaferro
Lumina
wtaliaferro@luminafoundation.org

Carrie Warick
National College Attainment Network
warickc@ncan.org

Reid Setzer
The Education Trust
rsetzer@edtrust.org

Michele Streeter
The Institute for College Access & Success (TICAS)
mstreeter@ticas.org

Tamara Hiler
Third Way
thiler@thirdway.org

Lodriguez Murray
UNCF
Lodriguez.Murray@uncf.org

Kyle Southern
Young Invincibles
kyle.southern@younginvincibles.org