Doubling Down on Doubling the Pell Grant

As the nation rebuilds from the economic downturn brought on by COVID-19, current and incoming students will require additional financial support to help pay for college. One clear option is to double down on the one mechanism we already have in federal law designed to target funding to low-income students by doubling the maximum Pell Grant award available to students.Pell Grants are the foundation of our national investment in higher education, and they help pave the way for nearly 7 million low- and middle-income students to attend and complete college. However, the current maximum Pell Grant covers less than one-third of the cost of attending a four-year college. To boost the grant’s purchasing power and help make college an option for more students who are currently in crisis, Congress should invest in and protect the Pell Grant program.

More than 80 groups support doubling the Pell Grant

👇

Want your organization to be one of them? Add your name to the list !

👇

Click here for more resources about why doubling Pell matters!

We recommend exploring the map in fullscreen mode. ☝

Why the Pell Grant Matters

The Pell Grant program is the foundation of college aid for over 7 million students annually, including nearly 60 percent of Black students and nearly half of Hispanic students.

How the Pell Grant Makes College Affordable

Unlike student loans, Pell Grants do not have to be repaid, eliminating or significantly reducing college debt.

Speak Directly with Experts Working to Make this Happen

Viviann Anguiano
Center for American Progress
vanguiano@amercanprogress.org

Janette Martinez
Excelencia in Education
jmartinez@edexcelencia.org

Julie Peller
Higher Learning Advocates
jpeller@higherlearningadvocates.org

Mamie Voight
IHEP
mvoight@ihep.org

Wayne Taliaferro
Lumina
wtaliaferro@luminafoundation.org

Clare McCann
New America
mccann@newamerica.org

Carrie Warick
National College Attainment Network
warickc@ncan.org

Reid Setzer
The Education Trust
rsetzer@edtrust.org

Michele Streeter
The Institute for College Access & Success (TICAS)
mstreeter@ticas.org

Tamara Hiler
Third Way
thiler@thirdway.org

Lodriguez Murray
UNCF
Lodriguez.Murray@uncf.org

Kyle Southern
Young Invincibles
kyle.southern@younginvincibles.org