Doubling Down on Doubling the Pell Grant

As the nation rebuilds from the economic downturn brought on by COVID-19, current and incoming students will require additional financial support to help pay for college. One clear option is to double down on the one mechanism we already have in federal law designed to target funding to low-income students by doubling the maximum Pell Grant award available to students. Pell Grants are the foundation of our national investment in higher education, and they help pave the way for nearly 7 million low- and middle-income students to attend and complete college. However, the current maximum Pell Grant covers less than one-third of the cost of attending a four-year college. To boost the grant’s purchasing power and help make college an option for more students who are currently in crisis, Congress should invest in and protect the Pell Grant program.

More than 1,200 organizations and institutions support doubling the Pell Grant.

Add your voice to the chorus of support,and let everyone know you support #DoublePell!

New America Report: Americans Are Split on College Costs and Who Should Pay

CAP Report: Affordability Principles for Reauthorizing the Higher Education Act

CAP Report: Trump’s Latest Budget Proposal Would Deepen the Student Debt Crisis

HLA Report: 3 Ways Federal Policy Solutions Can Level the Playing Field in Higher Education and the Economy

YI Report: Changing the Expected Family Contribution Formula to Serve Today’s Students

Excelencia in Education Report: We need to expand the college affordability conversation

Lumina Report: Impact of Pell Grant Eligibility On Financial Aid Packages, Labor Supply and Academic Outcomes

Lumina Report: Pell Grants cover a dwindling share of college costs as students borrow more

NCAN Report: Restore the Purchasing Power of the Pell Grant

NCAN Report: "The Growing Gap, 2020 Edition: Public Higher Education’s Declining Affordability for Pell Grant Recipients

Speak Directly with Experts Working to Make this Happen

Matt Owens
Association of American Universities (AAU)
matt.owens@aau.edu

Lindsey Tepe
Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU)
ltepe@aplu.org

Viviann Anguiano
Center for American Progress
vanguiano@americanprogress.org

Janette Martinez
Excelencia in Education
jmartinez@edexcelencia.org

Julie Peller
Higher Learning Advocates
jpeller@higherlearningadvocates.org

Mamie Voight
IHEP
mvoight@ihep.org

Wayne Taliaferro
Lumina
wtaliaferro@luminafoundation.org

Carrie Warick
National College Attainment Network
warickc@ncan.org

Reid Setzer
The Education Trust
rsetzer@edtrust.org

Michele Streeter
The Institute for College Access & Success (TICAS)
mstreeter@ticas.org

Tamara Hiler
Third Way
thiler@thirdway.org

Lodriguez Murray
UNCF
Lodriguez.Murray@uncf.org

Kyle Southern
Young Invincibles
kyle.southern@younginvincibles.org